Coronavirus guidance

Restrictions remain in place and inside all of our hospitals you still need to wear a mask, wash your hands and follow social distancing. Please see information for visitors > before you plan on visiting.

Latest news


Lifesaving ‘Redirooms’ project shortlisted for two awards for keeping our hospitals safe during pandemic

The lengths that UHDB teams have gone to during the pandemic to limit the spread of Covid-19 in our hospitals has been recognised on a national scale.

UHDB has been shortlisted for two awards at the Health Business Awards for the Trust’s ‘Redirooms’ project, which has helped to reduce the spread of Covid-19 in our hospitals and keep people safe.

Pop-up pods, known as Redirooms, have been used in different assessment areas across the Trust since last winter, including at Royal Derby Hospital’s Medical Assessment Unit – meaning patients suspected of having Covid-19 can be separated from others until their test results are known.


Royal Derby Hospital husband and wife celebrate 25 years working in the NHS together

Porter, Jason Eccles and Senior Sister, Claire Eccles are celebrating 25 years working in the NHS – the roles that bought them together as husband and wife.

Jason has been a Porter at the Royal Derby Hospital for the past 25 years, joining the Trust in February 1996. Claire joined the Trust in September 1996, holding the post of Staff Nurse on Ward 5, Coronary Care after qualifying in March 1996.


Derby Brother and Sister reunited on same hospital ward after over a year apart

Derby born brother and sister who hadn’t seen each other in over a year have been reunited after coincidentally being admitted on to the same ward at Royal Derby Hospital.

John Meakin, 78, from Chaddesden and Joan Sanders, 80, from Alvaston hadn’t seen each other in over a year due to the ongoing lockdown and health conditions, only to be reunited on the same ward on recent hospital admissions.


UHDB’s position as an ally for Armed Forces underlined by ‘Veteran Aware’ accreditation

UHDB has been formally recognised with a new accreditation that has strengthened the Trust’s position as an ally to the Armed Forces community. The Trust is proud to have such a strong working relationship with the Armed Forces and can count on veterans from the Military and reservists as valuable members of our workforce. After further emphasising this support by re-signing the Armed Forces Covenant earlier this year, UHDB has now been formally recognised with ‘Veteran Aware’ status by the Veterans Covenant Healthcare Alliance (VCHA).


Ward receives first EDC silver accreditation for Trust

Ward 801 at Queen’s Hospital Burton have received silver accreditation for the Every Day Counts initiative to ensure all patients are cared for safely and are appropriately discharged.


A tribute to Judy Veale

Our thoughts are with the friends and family of Judy Veale, after she sadly passed away last week.


UHDB anaesthetist the first clinician nationwide to take on new SAS Advocate role to support doctors

A UHDB anaesthetist is aiming to help raise the profile of Speciality and Associate Specialist (SAS) doctors at Trust level and on a national scale too after being appointed into a role that is the first of its kind in the NHS.

Dr Gauri Sankhe recently took on the role of UHDB’s first ever SAS Advocate, which is a position that has been created to improve support for the wellbeing of SAS doctors – something that is especially important right now in the midst of the pandemic.


Heart sculptures unveiled to remember colleagues

Two new heart sculptures were officially unveiled this week to remember our colleagues who sadly died from Covid-19 during the pandemic.

During two intimate memorial services, one at Queen’s Hospital Burton and Royal Derby Hospital, family, close friends and colleagues came together to reflect on the last two years and remember those who paid the ultimate price.


Healthcare Support Worker Day - Elaine Whiting

Health Care Support Workers (HCSWs) are hugely important to ensuring our patients at University Hospitals of Derby and Burton receive exceptional care.

Elaine Whiting is a Registered Nursing Associate and is currently training as a Student Nurse working in Long Eaton.



Chief Nursing Officer, Ruth May, praises teams during UHDB visit

Ruth May, Chief Nursing Officer for NHS England and Improvement, has met colleagues across UHDB to hear first-hand about the work of our nurses.

Executive Chief Nurse, Cathy Winfield welcomed Ruth to Royal Derby Hospital where she met some of the highly skilled nurses and nursing staff who work at UHDB.


'Go-to person for ESR' Jeanette surprised with award for helping so many of our colleagues

A UHDB colleague with “the patience of a saint” has been praised for helping an “important but largely unrecognisable” system that all our staff rely on to keep running smoothly. Jeanette Harper has made an invaluable difference as the Trust’s ESR Project Support Officer for nearly 14 years – helping many of our colleagues to get out of “an ESR hole” along the way. The Electronic Staff Record, or ESR, is an extremely useful tool for all NHS staff – helping them to view their payslips online, access pension benefits and view other important details – but as with all electronic systems, can often be hard to navigate for some!


Meet Matthew – one of the first Consultant ACPs at UHDB

Matthew Fowler is one of the first consultant ACPs (Advanced clinical practitioners) for oncology and haematology at UHDB with over 24 years of experience. He shares his experience within the NHS as an ACP.


Tattoo-free radiotherapy benefiting the wellbeing of cancer patients undergoing treatment at UHDB

UHDB radiographers are now using a state-of-the-art technique to treat cancer patients more effectively, without leaving them with permanent reminders of what they’ve been through for everyone to see.

Surface Guided Radiotherapy (SGRT) targets tumours even more accurately than techniques used before but crucially doesn’t rely on marks being left on the skin to do this – meaning patients are not left with these “tattoos” following their treatment.

Newer articles Older articles