The University Hospitals of Derby and Burton NHS Foundation Trust are pleased to offer patients the option of a new free online patient portal which will provide:
Patients will receive an invitation to register for the portal, which is provided in partnership with Patients Know Best (PKB), in their next appointment letter.
Read some of our frequently asked questions below.
Yes. Patients Know Best (PKB) is a software provider selected by University Hospitals of Derby and Burton NHS Foundation Trust to provide a patient portal. The PKB portal meets NHS requirements for health record systems and is fully compliant with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).
Only the minimum level of data necessary to verify you has been uploaded and this will be deleted if you choose not to register. All personal and health information stored is encrypted, with the software provider only having access to your NHS number.
Yes. This is an online service and will require you, or a carer, to have regular internet access to receive your correspondence via the portal and to use the additional features.
Once you have registered, future correspondence from the Trust will start to be available within the portal such as appointment letters.
There are still some departments within the Hospital which are yet to use the Trusts electronic mail provider and there may also be times where you need to receive additional items such as hearing aids or leaflets – on both of these occasions you will receive your letter in the post instead.
Yes, family members and carers can, with your consent, register on your behalf. However, they should not use their own email account to do this.
If you want the family member or carer to have access to your portal record they can be added in the ‘Sharing’ section. This will allow them to set up their own portal account and allow you to control the level of access they have to your record.
The portal is an optional service to provide choice to patients who wish to interact with the hospital in a digital format, and requires you to ‘opt-in’. If you do not wish to use the portal, you can ignore this invitation and will continue to receive your hospital correspondence in the usual way. This will not affect the care that you receive from the Trust.
We are unable to add any information until you have registered.
Once you have registered, your correspondence will start to become available. In the meantime you can add your own information, such as tracking your symptoms or recording any medication you take.
If you are concerned that your personal information is incorrect, you will need to contact your GP practice to change your information as this can only be changed at source. This is then automatically updated in the portal when you are next booked an appointment.
No, there are no costs to you as a patient as the portal is being funded by UHDB. The Trust will recoup the costs through a reduction in paper and postage expenses as a result of correspondence being sent digitally.
Your invite contains two security codes to ensure that only you can register for your account. Limiting the time that these codes can be used helps to enhance the security of the portal.
If you are unable or choose not to register during this time, you will be given an opportunity to register again in the future.
Further developments are currently in progress and will be available on the portal in the coming months.