Staff accolades

Celebrating excellence at the Making a Difference Awards 2022

Making A Difference Awards 2022 event

On Friday 14 October, UHDB held it’s first in-person awards ceremony in three years at the National Memorial Arboretum in Alrewas, with 260 members of #TeamUHDB joining in an evening of celebrating exceptional care together.

The glamorous awards ceremony, hosted by local radio DJ Mark O’Sullivan, saw nominees for 10 awards come together to celebrate in what was a night to remember.

After an unprecedented 722 nominations showcasing UHDB values of excellence, compassion and openness in abundance, the judges had a challenge choosing a shortlist from the exceptional submissions.

Our awards recognised both clinical and non-clinical members of staff from across a number of our sites, before staff dusted off their dancing shoes and took to the dancefloor to party the night away.

Making A Difference Award 2022

One of the winners on the night was the Apprenticeship and Vocational Training Team, who won the Education and Training Award. They have played an essential role in developing UHDB’s future workforce and have led the reintroduction of work experience and placements, which promote UHDB as a great place to learn and work.

Faye Leatt, from the Apprenticeship and Vocational Training Team, said: “It feels amazing. The team have done so much over the last few years, let alone this year, it’s amazing to be recognised. We want to make a difference to our community far and wide.”

Making A Difference Award 2022

The Lead and Co-Lead for the EMBRACE Staff Network (Ethnic Minorities Broadening Racial Awareness and Cultural Exchange) won the Openness and Inclusion Award. Joseph Ramtohal, Network Co-Lead, said: “This is a journey that we as a Trust have been on for over two years. The growth and development of the Staff Network has been a steady journey and I am proud of what we have achieved together.”

Mwansa Mulenga, Network Lead, said: “This is amazing, but it’s not just about us, it’s about everyone who has been able to support us, especially the Network and our allies. This gives me more strength to carry on, because I know that there are people out there who appreciate our work.”

Making A Difference Award 2022

The Community Hospital Team of the Year winners were presented with their award by Chief Executive, Stephen Posey. The Day Case Unit at Sir Robert Peel Community Hospital were recognised for their unwavering dedication to improvement, which has been shown by increasing the surgical procedures available to local residents with exceptional results.

Natasha Riley from the Day Case Unit said: “The team are so amazing, it’s really nice to be recognised for the work we have done. We are trying every day to make a real difference to our patient’s lives and to be recognised in this way shows us we are good at what we do.”

This year, for the first time, the Chair’s Team of the Year category had six teams shortlisted, and with the standard being so high, two teams were recognised as highly commended, while one winner took the trophy home.

Making A Difference Award 2022

The prestigious Chair’s Team of the Year 2022 was awarded to The Pharmacy Department, who have been fundamental during the past year. The team rapidly and safely introduced therapies and vaccinations at the height of the pandemic and implemented improvements to dispensing medicines to reduce discharge delays.

Matthew Prior from Pharmacy said: “We’re shocked. The teams who were shortlisted for the Chair’s Team of the Year are doing amazing things, so we’re incredibly happy and honoured to have won.”

The winners were chosen by a judging panel consisting of members of our Executive Team, senior leaders and governors.

The full list of winners from our Making a Difference Annual Awards are: 

  • Compassion Award – Jackie Marks, Lung Clinical Navigator, Queen’s Hospital Burton
  • Openness and Inclusion Award – Mwansa Mulenga and Joseph Ramtohal for the EMBRACE Staff Network, Trustwide
  • Excellence Award sponsored by PENTAX Medical – Melanie Palmer, Admin and Clerical Project Manager, Trustwide
  • Fundraiser of the Year Award sponsored by the Derby & Burton Hospitals Charity – Avtar Samrai, Corporate Responsibilities Lead, ISS, Royal Derby Hospital
  • Patient Hero Award – Sharon Cox, Macmillan Colorectal Cancer Navigator, Queen’s Hospital Burton and Becky Wheeler, Community Midwife, Samuel Johnson Community Hospital
  • Behind the Scenes Award – Lara Raworth, Medical Director’s Office Manager, Trustwide
  • Education and Training Award – Apprenticeships and Vocational Training Team, Trustwide
  • Research, Innovation and Quality Improvement Award sponsored by University of Derby – Derbyshire Breast Pain Clinic Team, Florence Nightingale Community Hospital and Ashgate Clinic, Chesterfield
  • Community Hospital Team of the Year Award – Day Case Unit, Sir Robert Peel Community Hospital
  • Chair’s Team of the Year Award – Highly commended: ED High Intensity User Service (Royal Derby Hospital) and Obstetric Perinatal Mental Health Team (Trustwide)
  • Chair’s Team of the Year Award – Winner: The Pharmacy Department, Trustwide

You can see all the shortlisted individuals and teams here >

Thank you to the sponsors for this year’s Making a Difference Awards: Derby & Burton Hospitals Charity, PENTAX Medical, University of Derby, Spirit Medical and LG Davis.


Photos from top to bottom: Apprenticeship and Vocational Team winning the Edcation and Training Award, presented by Lead Governor Maura Teager

Mwansa Mulenga and Joseph Ramtohal winning the Openness and Inclusion Award, presented by Assistant Director of EDI, Harinder Dhaliwal

Day Case Unit winning the Community Hospital Team of the Year Award, presented by Chief Executive Stephen Posey

Pharmacy Department winning the Chair's Team of the Year, presented by Chair Dr Kathy McLean. 

We have placed cookies on your computer to help make this website better. You can at any time read our cookie policy. Otherwise, we will assume that you're OK to continue.

Please choose a setting: