Making a Difference Awards 2022

On Friday 14 October, UHDB held it’s first in-person awards ceremony in three years at the National Memorial Arboretum in Alrewas, with 260 members of #TeamUHDB joining in an evening of celebrating exceptional care together.

The glamorous awards ceremony, hosted by local radio DJ Mark O’Sullivan, saw nominees for 10 awards come together to celebrate in what was a night to remember.

After an unprecedented 722 nominations showcasing UHDB values of excellence, compassion and openness in abundance, the judges had a challenge choosing a shortlist from the exceptional submissions.

See below to find out more about the categories, watch videos of all the shortlisted nominees and find out who won.

Compassion Award



Jackie Marks

Lung Clinical Navigator, Queen’s Hospital Burton

Shortlisted nominees

  • Amanda Broad, Sister, Royal Derby Hospital
  • Graham Frost, Volunteer, Royal Derby Hospital
  • Emma Fowkes, Healthcare Support Worker, Queen’s Hospital Burton

Excellence Award

Sponsored by Pentax.



Melanie Palmer

Admin and Clerical Project Manager, Trustwide

Shortlisted nominees

  • Crystal Coe, Tracheostomy Nurse, Royal Derby Hospital
  • Sarah Holt, Clinical Specialist Occupational Therapist, Florence Nightingale Community Hospital

Openness and Inclusion Award



Mwansa Mulenga and Joseph Ramtohal

for the EMBRACE Staff Network, Trustwide

Shortlisted nominees

  • Refugee Support Programme  – Recruitment Team and Professional and Practice Development Team, Trustwide
  • Dr Sunil Mistry and Charlie Malcolm-Davies for the ED High Intensity User Team, Royal Derby Hospital

Fundraiser of the Year Award

Sponsored by Derby & Burton Hospitals Charity.



Avtar Samrai

Corporate Responsibilities Lead for ISS, Royal Derby Hospital

Shortlisted nominees

  • Nicola Lockett, Generic Therapy Assistant, Stroke Team, Royal Derby Hospital
  • Sandra Carlin, Surgical Appliance Supervisor for the Orthotics Department, Queen’s Hospital Burton

Patient Hero Award

patient hero


Sharon Cox

Macmillan Colorectal Cancer Navigator, Queen’s Hospital Burton


Becky Wheeler

Community Midwife, Samuel Johnson Community Hospital

Shortlisted nominees

  • Ange Harris, Midwife for Perinatal Mental Health, Royal Derby Hospital
  • Hannah Jones, Registered Nurse, Royal Derby Hospital

Behind the Scenes Award

behind the scenes


Lara Raworth

Medical Director’s Office Manager, Trustwide

Shortlisted nominees

  • Andrea O’Shaughnessy, Clinical System Support (IT), Trustwide
  • Alison Thorp, Chaplaincy Manager, Queen’s Hospital Burton

Education and Training Award



Apprenticeships and Vocational Training Team


Shortlisted nominees

  • Chief Nurse Junior Fellow Model, Trustwide
  • Digital Clinical Team and Digital Education and Training Team, Trustwide
  • Undergraduate Medical Education, Royal Derby Hospital

Community Hospital Team of the Year Award



Day Case Unit

Sir Robert Peel Community Hospital

Shortlisted nominees

  • ImpACT+ Respiratory Team, Florence Nightingale Community Hospital
  • Eye Clinic, Ophthalmology Outpatients, Samuel Johnson Community Hospital

Research, Innovation and Quality Improvement Award

Sponsored by University of Derby.



Derbyshire Breast Pain Clinic Team

Florence Nightingale Community Hospital and Chesterfield Royal Hospital

Shortlisted nominees

  • Dermatology Isotretinoin Team, Florence Nightingale Community Hospital
  • Ophthalmic Department, Queen’s Hospital Burton

Chair’s Team of the Year Award



Pharmacy Department


Highly Commended

  • ED High Intensity User Service, Royal Derby Hospital
  • Obstetric Perinatal Mental Health Team, Trustwide


Shortlisted nominees

  • Juno Team, Trustwide
  • The Wellbeing Service, Trustwide
  • Discharge Business Unit, Trustwide 

With thanks to our sponsors