Coronavirus guidance

If you think you may have symptoms of Coronavirus >, follow the national guidance and self-isolate for 10 days. Please see our information for visitors > before you plan on visiting one of our hospitals. If you, or a member of your family has tested positive for Coronavirus, please find resources to aid your/their recovery on our Coronavirus - Supporting your recovery > page.

About the Council of Governors

The Council of Governors ensures that the views of members, as well as those of the wider community, are represented appropriately and it has been re-constituted to reflect the wider communities served by the merged Trust.

The Council of Governors is not responsible for the day-to-day management of the Trust, this responsibility remains with the board of directors. However the Board ensures the Council of Governors is fully engaged in determining the future plans of the Trust.

The Council comprises of 41 members who are either elected by our staff and public members, or selected to represent the views of the specialist fields in which they work.

If you are interested in learning more about Governors or contacting your Governor, you can email  or call 01332 785440.

Governors meetings

Governors meet bi-monthly. 

Our Council of Governors meeting on Tuesday 17 March will be a virtual meeting and will not be open to members of the public. We’re taking precautionary measures to keep our staff, patients and visitors safe.

Meetings for the start of 2020 are:

Tuesday 17 March 2020

Meetings are at 5pm at the Royal Derby Hospital.  


Members of the public can attend the meetings to listen to the discussions.

Please contact the membership office on 01332 785 440 for more information.

Public Governors 2018/19

The register of public members of the Council of Governors from 1 October 2018 is as follows:

Amber Valley

  • Maura Teager
  • Andrew Loades

Dales and South Derbyshire

Derby City

East Staffordshire

  • Louise Walker
  • Graham Lamb
  • David Lindop
  • John Anderson


  • Michael Flude

Lichfield and Tamworth

Rest of England

  • Andrew Rollason

Staff Governors by hospital site

The register of staff members of the Council of Governors from 1 October 2018 is as follows:

Royal Derby Hospital

  • Anne Woodhouse 
  • Alison Booth  
  • Samantha Mills
  • Amit Goyal 
  • Rob Bradley 

London Road Community Hospital

Queen's Hospital Burton

Samual Johnson Community Hospital / Sir Robert Community Hospital

  • Joy Stretton

Appointed Governors

The register of appointed members of the Council of Governors from 1 October 2018 is as follows:

  • Professor Raheela Khan – University of Nottingham
  • Councillor Linda Chilton – Derbyshire County Council
  • Heather Johnstone – East Staffordshire CCG
  • Councillor Bernard Peters – Staffordshire County Council
  • Elaine Day – Staffordshire CVS
  • Cllr Evonne Williams - Derby CC
  • Mr Michael Mudzimiri – Derby CVS
  • Dr Merryl Watkins – DDCCG
  • Prof Judith West – University of Leicester

Agendas and board papers